> Home    > Our Integrated Systems > FIREFLEX® DUAL
  • Description
  • Options
  • Documentation

FireFlex DUALCOMBINED AUTOMATIC SPRINKLER AND CLEAN AGENT INTEGRATED FIRE SUPPRESSION SYSTEMS. Designed with user-friendly features, the FIREFLEX® DUAL units are easy to install and maintain.

To learn more, click on the topics below.

3M NOVEC 1230NovecTM 1230 Fire Protection Fluid

Description

Clean agent systems are designed with the purpose of protecting the contents of water sensitive hazards, such as IT or telecom equipment. Automatic sprinkler systems are intended and designed as primary fire protection as they offer life safety to occupants and provide building protection. A dual agent system provides the highest level of protection for mission critical facilities.

Automatic sprinklers are required in all compartments of completely sprinklered buildings as defined in NFPA 13. Preaction systems are specialized sprinkler systems that provide security against accidental water damage by using supervisory air or nitrogen pressure in the piping instead of water. When used in combination with sprinkler systems, clean agent systems are designed to serve as initial fire protection with the intent of extinguishing the fire, thereby reducing the potential for sprinkler discharge, and thus minimizing damage to the electronic equipment.

The FIREFLEX® DUAL provides an integrated solution for dual agent applications.

Features

  • Simple and quick installation thereby reducing costs
  • Compact factory assembled and tested systems
  • Lockable doors to avoid unauthorized handling
  • Clean agent safe for occupants
  • Environmentally safe long-term solution
  • Available in multiple sizes
  • Serial number for easy reference
  • FM Approved as an assembled unit
  • UL/ULC Listed as an assembled unit
  • Seismic type contruction, up to a 601 lbs cylinder, 46'' cabinet.

Cabinets

Factory assembly of the FIREFLEX® DUAL cabinets ensures that all components have been carefully integrated. All systems are fully programmed and tested at the factory which facilitates the onsite installation and commissioning process.

The FIREFLEX® DUAL cabinets are of the freestanding type and are made of robust 14 gauge steel with a corrosion resistant fire red paint finish, polyester powder-coated and oven-baked on a phosphate base. Cabinets are also provided with two locked frontal doors that are removable without special tools, reducing space requirements for ease of installation and maintenance. Furthermore, all doors are provided with a neoprene gasket to reduce vibrations.

Technical details:

Novec 1230 Extinguishing Agent

The FIREFLEX® DUAL system uses 3MTM NovecTM 1230 Fire Protection Fluid combined with a Viking Preaction System. This clean extinguishing agent is based on sustainable technology and is the only chemical agent currently available that not only meets current regulations but also those in the future regulatory framework. It is also the only extinguishing agent that allows a 1 to 1 cylinder replacement for existing halon systems. Factory assembly of the FIREFLEX® DUAL cabinets ensures that all components have been properly integrated. All systems are fully programmed and tested at the factory which facilitates the onsite installation and commissioning process.

Novec™ 1230 Fire Protection Fluid is a new generation of halon replacement gas designed to mitigate concerns regarding occupant safety, extinguishing performance and the environment. Contrary to first generation HFC’s, the Novec™ 1230 fluid has key characteristics that define a clean extinguishing agent such as:

  • Ozone layer depletion potential of zero (ODP)
  • Global warming potential of 1 (GWP)
  • Atmospheric lifetime of only 5 days
  • Widest safety margin for occupants

The FIREFLEX® DUAL integrated systems are thus adapted for use in any mission critical facility requiring a clean extinguishing agent that is not only fast and efficient, but also safe for people and the environment.

SEVO Cylinders

The FIREFLEX® DUAL system uses SEVO™ 1230 FORCE500™ cylinders pressurized at 500 psi and designed for a high volume discharge rate in order to meet the rapid discharge requirements specified in the NFPA 2001 standard. Discharge valves are of brass construction and are designed as per the pressure differential concept. They are also provided with an integrated pressure safety device, a pressure indicating gauge and an electric actuator. The SEVO™ system is UL, ULC Listed and FM Approved. All systems are designed as per the NFPA 2001 standard and in compliance with the limitations and instructions found in the manufacturer’s design manual. All cylinders are factory-filled with the extinguishing agent and then pressurized with nitrogen allowing maximum flexibility at the time of installation. They are fabricated, tested and stamped according to D.O.T. 4BA500 or 4BW500 or TC specifications depending on their size and capacity.

FireFlex DUAL - SEVO CYLINDERS

SEVO Discharge Nozzles

FireFlex DUAL

The SEVO™ discharge nozzles are designed to provide a complete and rapid vaporization of the Novec™ 1230 fluid as well as properly distribute the agent within the protected space. Standard nozzles are made of aluminum and are available in various sizes, including ½”, 1”, 1½”, 2” and 2½”. Both 180º and 360º models cover a maximum area of 32’ x 32’ with a maximum height of 16’- 4”.

Preaction Automatic Sprinkler System

The FIREFLEX® DUAL system integrates a Viking preaction sprinkler system with the Model F1 Straight Through Deluge Valve. FIREFLEX® DUAL systems are provided with an integrated 2” or 3” diameter single or double interlocked preaction system.

Applications

  • Telecommunication centersFireFlex DUAL
  • Server rooms and data storage
  • Control rooms
  • Art galleries & museums
  • Medical treatment centers & laboratories
  • Archives
  • Emergency diesel generators

Approvals

The FIREFLEX® DUAL is FM Approved and cULus Listed as an assembled unit. Click on the link below to view the FIREFLEX® DUAL certificates.

Our adaptability, in order to better meet our customers' needs, is our main priority. Consequently, here is the available range of options for the FIREFLEX® DUAL units.

Seismic construction type Option

The FIREFLEX® DUAL seismic type construction option is available with or without panel, up to a 601 lbs cylinder, 46'' cabinet.

QUALIFICATIONS

The FIREFLEX® DUAL seismic construction type option is tested in accordance with:

  • International Building Code, 2009 Edition
  • California Building Code, 2007 Edition
  • ASCE Standard 7, 2005 Edition
  • ICC-ES AC-156

 

 

Air Supply Options

Two styles of air supplies are available for the FIREFLEX® DUAL units depending on needs or configurations. These air supplies are factory assembled and pressure tested.

Air supply style "A": is used to supervise the sprinkler piping network of preaction systems. This option includes an oilless piston-type air compressor with supervisory trim integrated in the FIREFLEX® DUAL cabinet and factory piped to the system riser.

AIR SUPPLY OPTIONS

 

 

 

Air compressors have open, single-phase motors with internal thermal protection.

Air supply style "B": is provided with an air pressure maintenance device factory mounted and adjusted in the FIREFLEX® DUAL cabinet and piped to the air inlet port of the unit. Used to supervise the sprinkler piping network of preaction systems when the external air supply (by tank-mounted air compressor, plant air or dry nitrogen cylinders) is provided by others.

Note: The air supply must be restricted to ensure that it cannot replace air as fast as it escapes when a releasing device or sprinkler operates.

 

Integrated Releasing Control Panel Option

FireFlex DUAL - NFS-320 NOTIFIER PANEL

The optional releasing control panel integrated in the FIREFLEX® DUAL cabinet is Notifier®'s by Honeywell model NFS-320.This panel includes two Class A or B, programmable detection zones; four Class B, supervisory zones and four Class A or B, programmable output circuits.

 

Programming of the control panel is done by FireFlex® Systems and is password protected. The panel is compatible with many types of fire alarm & supervisory devices such as linear heat detectors, spot-type heat and smoke detectors, water flow and release indicators, low and high air pressure switches, manual pull stations and abort switches.The control panel also includes an alphanumeric display with 2 lines of 40 characters describing all the system conditions, as well as a set of red and yellow LED lamps individually indicating the alarm and trouble conditions of the system. Easy to operate control buttons are also provided to activate and operate the system's various functions.

Remote-controlled Option

The remote-controlled option provides a junction box where all supervisory and control devices, are prewired to a set of terminals for field wiring to a releasing control panel to be provided by others. The system’s electric actuator must be compatible and listed with the releasing control panel.

> Accueil    > Nos systèmes intégrés > FIREFLEX® DUAL
  • Description
  • Options
  • Documentation

FireFlex DUALSYSTÈMES INTÉGRÉS D'EXTINCTION DES INCENDIE COMBINANT AGENT PROPRE ET GICLEURS AUTOMATIQUES. Conçues à partir de multiples caractéristiques conviviales, les unités FIREFLEX® DUAL sont faciles à installer et à entretenir.

 

Pour en savoir plus, consulter les rubriques ci-dessous.

Liquide de protection contre les incendies NovecMC 1230 de 3M NOVEC 1230.

Description

Les systèmes à agent propre sont conçus spécialement pour la protection de lieux sensibles à l’eau, tels que les salles d’équipements informatiques ou de télécommunications. Les systèmes de gicleurs automatiques, quant à eux, sont conçus pour protéger contre l’incendie et procurent une sécurité pour les occupants tout en assurant la protection des lieux et des biens. Un système combiné procure donc le plus haut niveau de protection qui soit pour les installations critiques.

Conformément à la norme NFPA 13, toutes les aires d’un édifice doivent être munies d’un système de gicleurs automatiques. Les systèmes à préaction sont des systèmes de gicleurs spécialisés qui procurent une sécurité contre les décharges accidentelles en utilisant une supervision de la tuyauterie par pression d’air ou d’azote, au lieu de l’eau. Lorsque combiné à un système de gicleurs automatiques, un système à agent propre agit comme première ligne de défense avec l’objectif d’éteindre l’incendie rapidement, permettant ainsi de réduire le risque de déclenchement des gicleurs et par conséquent, les dommages aux équipements électroniques.

Le système intégré DUAL de FireFlex procure donc une solution idéale pour la protection des risques avec agents combinés.

Caractéristiques

  • Installation simple et rapide réduisant les coûts
  • Systèmes compacts assemblés et testés en usine
  • Portes verrouillables afin d’éviter les manipulations non autorisées
  • Agent d’extinction propre sécuritaire pour les occupants
  • Solutions durables respectant l’environnement
  • Offerts en plusieurs dimensions et configurations
  • Numéro de série assigné à chaque unité, assurant une meilleure traçabilité
  • Approuvés FM en tant qu’unités préassemblées en usine
  • Approuvés UL/ULC en tant qu’unités préassemblées en usine
  • Construction de type sismique, pour une capacité de cylindre allant jusqu'à 601 lbs sur l'armoire de 46''.

Armoires

La fabrication en usine des armoires FIREFLEX® DUAL garantit que toutes les composantes ont été assemblées avec soin. Les systèmes sont également entièrement préprogrammés et testés à l’usine, réduisant ainsi les pertes de temps lors de l’installation et de la mise en service.

L’armoire FIREFLEX® DUAL est autoportante et fabriquée d’acier de calibre 14 avec un fini texturé résistant à la corrosion, peinte de couleur rouge feu, de revêtement composé de poudre de polyester et cuite sur une base de fini phosphaté. L’armoire est également munie de deux portes frontales verrouillables pouvant être retirées aisément sans l’aide d’outil, réduisant la zone d’accès requise devant l’armoire afin de faciliter l’installation et l’entretien. De plus, les portes sont pourvues de joints d’étanchéité en néoprène, réduisant ainsi les vibrations.

Détails techniques:

Agent extincteur Novec 1230

Les systèmes FIREFLEX® DUAL utilisent le liquide de protection contre les incendies NovecMC 1230 manufacturé par 3MMC combiné à un système à préaction Viking. Cet agent d’extinction propre est à la fine pointe des technologies en matière de développement durable. Le NovecMC 1230 est le seul agent offert sur le marché permettant de respecter les normes environnementales actuelles ainsi que celles qui pourront entrer en vigueur dans un avenir prévisible. Il est aussi le seul agent d’extinction permettant de remplacer un cylindre d’halon existant dans un rapport de 1 pour 1.

Utilisé à des concentrations de 4 à 6%, le liquide d’extinction NovecMC 1230 de 3MMC est un agent performant de substitution au halon, conçu pour atténuer les préoccupations relatives à la sécurité des occupants, à la performance d’extinction et à l’environnement. Contrairement aux hydrocarbures halogénés (HFC) de première génération, le liquide NovecMC 1230 possède des caractéristiques clés qui définissent bien un agent d’extinction propre telles que :

  • Potentiel d’appauvrissement de la couche d’ozone nul
  • Très faible potentiel de réchauffement planétaire (1.0)
  • Durée de vie atmosphérique de seulement 5 jours
  • Plus grande marge de sécurité pour l’utilisation dans les espaces occupés

Les systèmes intégrés FIREFLEX® DUAL sont ainsi adaptés pour être utilisés dans toutes installations critiques nécessitant non seulement un système d’extinction rapide et efficace, mais également un système parfaitement sécuritaire pour l’être humain et l’environnement.

Cylindres SEVO

Les systèmes FIREFLEX® DUAL utilisent les cylindres de marque SEVOMC 1230 FORCE500MC, pressurisés à 500 psi et conçus pour un haut débit d’écoulement afin de répondre aux exigences de la norme NFPA 2001, relativement à la vitesse rapide de décharge. Les vannes de décharge sont fabriquées de laiton et sont conçues selon le concept des systèmes à pression différentielle. Elles sont également pourvues d’un dispositif de sécurité intégrée, d’un manomètre et d’un activateur électrique. Les systèmes SEVOMC sont homologués UL, ULC ou approuvés FM. Tous les systèmes sont conçus selon la norme NFPA 2001 et sont conformes aux directives et conditions stipulées dans le manuel de conception du manufacturier. Tous les cylindres sont remplis d’agent extincteur et mis sous pression d’azote, permettant un maximum de flexibilité lors de l’installation. Ils sont fabriqués, testés et estampés conformément aux spécifications D.O.T. 4BA500 ou 4BW500 ou aux spécifications TC, selon le format ou la capacité de cylindre utilisé.

FireFlex DUAL - CYLINDRES SEVO

Buses de décharge SEVO

FireFlex DUAL

Les buses de décharge SEVOMC sont conçues pour fournir une vaporisation complète et rapide du liquide d’extinction NovecMC 1230 ainsi qu’une bonne distribution de l’agent dans la zone du risque à protéger. Les buses standards sont fabriquées en aluminium et sont offertes dans plusieurs formats ou dimensions, soit: 1”, 1½”, 2” et 2½’’. Les buses en configuration de 180 et 360 degrés couvrent une superficie maximale de 32’ x 32’, pour une hauteur maximale de 16’ – 4’’.

Système préaction intégré

Chaque armoire FIREFLEX® DUAL est composée d’un système de gicleurs automatiques à préaction incluant une vanne déluge F1 (vanne déluge à sortie verticale) de marque Viking. Tous les systèmes FIREFLEX® DUAL sont munis d’un système à préaction intégré d’un diamètre de 2 ou 3 pouces, à simple ou double entrebarrage.

Applications

  • Centres de télécommunicationsFireFlex DUAL
  • Centres informatiques et centres de stockage de données
  • Salles de contrôle
  • Galeries d’art et musées
  • Centres de traitement médical et laboratoires
  • Salles d’archives
  • Groupes électrogènes

Approbations

Le FIREFLEX® DUAL est approuvé FM et homologué cULus en tant qu’unité préassemblée en usine. Cliquez sur le lien ci-dessous pour visualiser les certificats du FIREFLEX® DUAL  (disponibles en anglais seulement):

S’adapter pour mieux répondre aux besoins de notre clientèle est notre préoccupation. Pour ce faire, voici les différentes options disponibles pour les unités FIREFLEX® DUAL.

Option construction de type sismique

L'option construction de type sismique FIREFLEX® DUAL est offerte avec ou sans panneau de contrôle, pour une capacité de cylindre allant jusqu'à 601 lbs sur l'armoire de 46''.

QUALIFICATIONS

L'option construction de type sismique FIREFLEX® DUAL est véfifiée conformément à:

  • International Building Code, Édition 2006
  • California Building Code, Édition 2007
  • ASCE Standard 7, Édition 2005
  • ICC-ES AC-156

 

 

 

Options d’alimentation d’air

Afin de superviser les fuites et de maintenir une pression constante sur la tuyauterie du réseau de gicleurs automatiques, deux styles d’alimentations d’air sont offerts avec les systèmes FIREFLEX® DUAL, selon le besoin ou la configuration choisie. Les systèmes d’alimentations d’air sont assemblés à l’usine dans l’armoire et soumis à des essais de pression.

Alimentation d’air de style « A » : Cette option inclut un compresseur d’air à pistons sans huile avec garnitures de supervision intégrées, monté à l’usine à l’intérieur de l’armoire FIREFLEX® DUAL.

FireFlex DUAL 

 

 

 Les compresseurs d’air sont munis de moteur à une phase à armature ouverte avec protection thermique interne.

Alimentation d’air de style « B » : cette option, qui inclut un dispositif de maintien de pression d’air constante ajusté et monté en usine dans l’armoire FIREFLEX® DUAL, est fournie lorsque l’alimentation d’air provient d’une source externe (soit un compresseur à réservoir tampon, un réseau d’air comprimé ou des cylindres d’azote).

Note : l’alimentation d’air doit être calibrée de façon à s’assurer qu’elle ne puisse remplacer l’air plus rapidement que les pertes occasionnées par un dispositif de déclenchement ou un gicleur en opération.

Option de panneau de contrôle intégré

FireFlex DUAL - NFS-320 NOTIFIER PANEL

Offert en option, le panneau de contrôle intégré dans l'armoire FIREFLEX® DUAL est le modèle NFS-320 de marque Notifier® by Honeywell. Le panneau inclut deux zones de détection programmables de classe A ou B, quatre zones de surveillance de classe B et quatre circuits de sortie de classe A ou B programmables.

 

La programmation interne faite par Systèmes FireFlex® est protégée par mot de passe. Le panneau est compatible avec plusieurs types de détecteurs d'incendie incluant les détecteurs thermiques linéaires, les détecteurs de chaleur et de fumée, les indicateurs d'écoulement, pressostats de basse et haute pression et les postes manuels et d'avortement. Le panneau de commande comprend également un affichage alphanumérique de 2 lignes de 40 caractères décrivant toutes les conditions du système, ainsi qu'un ensemble de lampes à LED rouges et jaunes indiquant les conditions d'alarme et de trouble du système. Des boutons de contrôle faciles d'opération sont également inclus pour l'opération des diverses fonctions du panneau.

Option de contrôle à distance

L'option de contrôle à distance consiste à une boîte de jonction installée dans l'armoire FIREFLEX® DUAL, et dans laquelle tous les dispositifs de supervision et de contrôle sont raccordés à une série de borniers prévus pour le câblage externe vers un panneau de contrôle (non inclus). Pour ce faire, l'activateur électrique doit être compatible avec le panneau de contrôle.